Two Filipinos among the 2017 Ramon Magsaysay awardees

Image title

Manila (August 31)— Two Filipinos were among the six recipients of the prestigious Ramon Magsaysay Award for 2017 given in a ceremony at the Cultural Center of the Philippines on Thursday. The awardees are Former Philippine Economic Zone Authority (PEZA) Director General (1) Lilia de Lima, for her sustained, nonstop credible public service, and (2) the Philippine Educational Theater Association (PETA), represented by its president Cecilia Garrucho, for empowering communities for development action through theater arts.
The other winners are (3) Yoshiaki Ishizawa from Japan, for restoring Cambodia’s treasured gift to world culture; (4) Abdon Nababan from Indonesia, for giving compelling face and voice to Adat communities and their rights; (5)Gethsie Shanmugam from Sri Lanka, for rebuilding lives from psychosocial wounds of war and violence; and (6) Tony Tay from Singapore, for mobilizing goodwill to address hidden hunger.
All six laureates received a certificate, a medallion bearing the likeness of the late President Magsaysay, and a cash prize.