Gov’t discloses 141 COVID-19 community testing centres

Image title

The universal community testing programme for COVID-19 will start on Sept. 1. (SCREENSHOT:

The Hong Kong government has revealed 141 coronavirus community testing centres in all 18 districts Friday, a day before registration for the citywide mass testing programme begin.

Of the 141 testing centres, only one is listed as not open to the public: the Central Government Offices in Tamar.

Here is the list of community centres per district:

Central and Western District

  • Li Sing Primary School
  • Hong Kong Park Sports Centre
  • Shek Tong Tsui Sports Centre
  • Sheung Wan Sports Centre
  • Smithfield Sports Centre
  • Hong Kong City Hall/ Exhibition Hall (Low Block)

Eastern District

  • Clementi Secondary School
  • North Point Government Primary School
  • Shau Kei Wan Government Primary School
  • Aldrich Bay Community Hall
  • Quarry Bay Community Hall
  • Chai Wan Sports Centre
  • Island East Sports Centre
  • Java Road Sports Centre
  • Quarry Bay Sports Centre
  • Sai Wan Ho Sports Centre
  • Siu Sai Wan Sports Centre

Southern District

  • Hong Kong Southern District Government Primary School
  • Wah Kwai Community Hall
  • Aberdeen Sports Centre
  • Ap Lei Chau Sports Centre
  • Wong Chuk Hang Sports Centre
  • Yue Kwong Road Sports Centre

Wan Chai District

  • Queen’s College
  • Hennessy Road Government Primary School
  • HKCEC (Convention Hall)
  • Lockhart Road Sports Centre
  • Wong Nai Chung Sports Centre
  • Hong Kong Playground Association Southorn Stadium
  • Queen Elizabeth Stadium

Kowloon City District

  • Arts & Technology Education Centre
  • Ma Tau Chung Government Primary School (Hung Hom Bay)
  • Hung Hom Municipal Services Building Sports Centre
  • Kowloon City Sports Centre
  • HK St John Ambulance Bridage Kowloon Command Headquarters
  • To Kwa Wan Sports Centre

Yau Tsim Mong District

  • Sir Ellis Kadoorie Secondary School (West Kowloon)
  • Boundary Street Sports Centre No. 1
  • Kwun Chung Sports Centre
  • Tai Kok Tsui Sports Centre
  • Hong Kong Playground Association MacPherson Stadium

Sham Shui Po District

  • Kowloon Technical School
  • Cheung Sha Wan Community Centre
  • Pak Tin Community Hall
  • Lai Chi Kok Community Hall
  • Cheung Sha Wan Sports Centre
  • Lai Chi Kok Park Sports Centre
  • Pei Ho Street Sports Centre
  • Po On Road Sports Centre

Wong Tai Sin District

  • Lung Cheung Government Secondary School
  • Choi Wan Estate Community Centre
  • Fung Tak Estate Community Centre
  • Tsz Wan Shan Community Hall
  • Tung Tau Community Centre
  • Choi Hung Road Sports Centre
  • Kai Tak East Sports Centre
  • Morse Park Sports Centre
  • Ngau Chi Wan Sports Centre

Kwun Tong District

  • Kwun Tong Government Secondary School
  • Kwun Tong Kung Lok Government Secondary School
  • KITEC (Star Hall)
  • Lam Tin (East) Community Hall
  • Sau Mau Ping Community Hall
  • Yau Tong Community Hall
  • Chun Wah Road Sports Centre
  • Hiu Kwong Street Sports Centre
  • Lam Tin South Sports Centre
  • Lei Yue Mun Sports Centre
  • Ngau Tau Kok Road Sports Centre
  • Shui Wo Street Sports Centre

Tai Po District

  • Fu Heng Sports Centre
  • Tai Po Hui Sports Centre
  • Tai Po Sports Centre
  • Tai Wo Sports Centre
  • Hong Kong Science Park

Yuen Long District

  • Chiu Lut Sau Memorial Secondary School
  • N.T. Heung Yee Kuk Yuen Long District Secondary School
  • Tin Shui Wai Government Secondary School
  • Yuen Long Public Secondary School
  • South Yuen Long Government Primary School
  • Yuen Long Government Primary School
  • Tin Ching Community Hall
  • Yuen Long Town East Community Hall
  • Fung Kam Street Sports Centre
  • Ping Shan Tin Shui Wai Sports Centre
  • Tin Fai Road Sports Centre
  • Tin Shui Sports Centre
  • Tin Shui Wai Sports Centre
  • Yuen Long Sports Centre

Tuen Mun District

  • Tuen Mun Government Secondary School
  • Kin Sang Community Hall
  • Siu Lun Community Hall
  • Tai Hing Community Hall
  • Wu Shan Road Community Hall
  • Lung Yat Community Hall
  • Leung Tin Sports Centre
  • Tai Hing Sports Centre
  • The Jockey Club Tuen Mun Butterfly Beach Sports Centre
  • Yau Oi Sports Centre

North District

  • Luen Wo Hui Sports Centre
  • Wo Hing Community Hall
  • Lung Sum Avenue Sports Centre
  • Po Wing Road Sports Centre
  • Wo Hing Sports Centre

Sai Kung District

  • Tseung Kwan O Government Secondary School
  • Tseung Kwan O Government Primary School
  • Sai Kung Jockey Club Town Hall
  • Sheung Tak Community Hall
  • Hang Hau Sports Centre
  • Tseung Kwan O Sports Centre
  • Tsui Lam Sports Centre

Sha Tin District

  • Helen Liang Memorial Secondary School (Shatin)
  • Lung Hang Estate Community Centre
  • Sha Kok Community Hall
  • Chun Shek Community Hall
  • Sun Tin Wai Community Hall
  • Heng On Estate Community Centre
  • Mei Tin Community Hall
  • Wo Che Community Hall
  • Yuen Chau Kok Community Hall
  • Ma On Shan Sports Centre
  • Mei Lam Sports Centre
  • Yuen Wo Road Sports Centre

Tsuen Wan District

  • Tsuen King Circuit Sports Centre
  • Tsuen Wan Sports Centre
  • Wai Tsuen Sports Centre

Kwai Tsing District

  • Cheung Ching Estate Community Centre
  • Cheung Fat Estate Community Centre
  • Tai Wo Hau Estate Community Centre
  • Kwai Fong Community Hall
  • Lai King Community Hall
  • Shek Lei Community Hall
  • Cheung Fat Sports Centre
  • Lai King Sports Centre
  • North Kwai Chung Tang Shiu Kin Sports Centre
  • Osman Ramju Sadick Memorial Sports Centre
  • Tai Wo Hau Sports Centre
  • Tsing Yi Southwest Sports Centre
  • Tsing Yi Sports Centre

Islands District

  • Tung Chung Man Tung Road Sports Centre

According to the website, holders of valid Hong Kong identity cards or birth certificates can take part in the program.

Those who want to get tested for COVID-19 may set their appointment beginning Aug. 29. They will use the online booking platform to provide their HKID card number or birth registration number as well as their mobile number, before choosing a 30-minute timeslot for testing at their preferred centre. The details will be sent via SMS.

Those who booked appointments should bring their HKIDs and show the SMS confirming their appointment.The centres are open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. daily, with an hour break for disinfection and cleaning.

Staff from the testing centre will provide a specimen bottle with a serial number. They will then collect a nasal and throat swab.

Participants who test negative will be notified via SMS within three days. Those who test positive will receive calls from the Department of Health to arrange for isolation and treatment in a public hospital.

The universal community testing programme is scheduled to run for seven days beginning Sept. 1, and could be extended for another seven days depending on the progress. The programme is aimed to detect silent carriers of the coronavirus within the community.