Fully vaccinated travelers from HK, 56 places get shorter quarantine period in PH

Image title

Returning overseas Filipinos at the Ninoy Aquino International Airport on April 9, 2020. (FILE/Department of Foreign Affairs/dfa.gov.ph)

The Philippine government included Hong Kong in its list of 57 countries and jurisdictions covered by shorter quarantine periods for fully vaccinated travelers upon entry to the Philippines.

Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque, who also speaks on behalf of the Philippine government’s inter-agency task force for combating the spread of Covid-19, unveiled the list of “green” countries on Wednesday.

Travelers from these specified areas will only need to undergo seven-day quarantine in a government-accredited facility instead of 10. They will also get tested for Covid-19 on the fifth day instead of the seventh—and they must complete another week of self-monitoring.

A day before, Roque said “green” countries and jurisdictions were places considered “low-risk” by the Philippine health department.

Because existing travel protocols do not allow the entry of foreign nationals in the Philippines for tourism, the rules for travelers from “green” places would apply mostly to Filipino nationals by July 1. The travelers must have stayed “exclusively” in these places in the past 14 days before departing for the Philippines.

Fully vaccinated travelers from these areas must carry official documents proving their inoculation status. They must have these documents validated by the Philippine Overseas Labor Office (POLO) in their country or jurisdiction of origin.

Respective POLOs will start accepting applications for validating OFWs’ vaccination documents by July 5.

The Bureau of Quarantine, which will check these documents upon arrival, will also accept international certificates of vaccination from inbound travelers.

A person is considered fully vaccinated against Covid-19 if two weeks have passed since they received the second dose of a two-dose vaccine or a dose of the single-dose vaccine.

Travelers must receive a vaccine that is granted emergency approval by the Philippine Food and Drug Authority or included in the list of vaccines approved for emergency use by the World Health Organization.

The vaccines of BioNTech and Sinovac, which are part of Hong Kong’s mass vaccination programme against Covid-19, are part of the WHO list.

Here is the full list of other “green” countries and jurisdictions:

  • Albania
  • American Samoa
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Benin
  • Belize
  • The British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cayman Islands
  • Chad
  • China
  • Cote d’ Ivoire (Ivory Coast)
  • Eswatini
  • Falkland Islands
  • French Polynesia
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Hong Kong
  • Iceland
  • Isle of Man
  • Israel
  • Laos
  • Liberia
  • Malawi
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Micronesia
  • Montserrat
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Palau
  • Rwanda
  • Saba
  • Saint Barthelemy
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Pierre and Miquelon
  • Sierra Leone
  • Senegal
  • Singapore
  • Sint Eustatius
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Togo
  • Turks and Caicos Islands (UK)
  • Vietnam
  • Zimbabwe