PH extends travel restrictions on 32 countries until Jan. 31

Image title

Filipina domestic workers at the Hong Kong Airport on their way home to Manila on July 2020. (FILE PHOTO/DFA/

The Philippines will extend entry restrictions for travelers coming from 32 countries and jurisdictions until Jan. 31 in its bid to control the spread of the UK coronavirus variant.

Philippine Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque announced the extension as the ban was set to expire today.

Filipinos from these 32 countries can enter the Philippines but they will have to complete a 14-day facility-based quarantine period even if they test negative for Covid-19:

  • United Kingdom
  • Denmark
  • Ireland
  • Japan
  • Australia
  • Israel
  • The Netherlands
  • People‚Äôs Republic of China, including Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
  • Switzerland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Lebanon
  • Singapore
  • Sweden
  • South Korea
  • South Africa
  • Canada
  • Spain
  • United States of America
  • Portugal
  • India
  • Finland
  • Norway
  • Jordan
  • Brazil
  • Austria
  • Pakistan
  • Jamaica
  • Luxembourg
  • Oman

Foreign nationals who have been in those countries 14 days before arriving in the Philippines will not be able to enter.

The United Arab Emirates is not yet on the list. A week prior, a Filipino traveler from there who returned to the Philippines had tested positive for the coronavirus variant.